Golf sponsorship

Investec Women's Golf

Invested in women | the future | each other

We're the title sponsor of the Investec South African Women's Open, the Investec Order of Merit, and the new Investec Homegrown Award. We've backed many women players on their rise to the top, and currently sponsor Lejan Lewthwaite, Nicole Garcia and Stacy Bregman. 

Investec Homegrown Award Logo

Launch of the Investec Homegrown Award

This year Investec is getting behind local talent with the new Homegrown Award. It will see a South African winner of the Investec South African Women’s Open, take home an additional R100 000.
“As a partner and sponsor, Investec has made an immeasurable contribution to the Sunshine Ladies Tour since the circuit launched in 2014 and has consistently upped the ante with additional incentives to promote the development of women’s professional golf in our country,” commented Sunshine Ladies Tour General Manager Pauli van Meersbergen
Additional prize money for local talent

Press Release

Investec announces new SA winner’s prize incentive

US Open Qualifier and 4 days of live coverage

Due to the Covid-19 impact on the international golf season schedule, the US Women's Open Qualifier will be decided based on top finishers from the Investec South African Women’s Open. The number of spots available will be determined at a later date. 
And in another first for the tournament, The Investec South African Women's Open will also be aired live on Supersport for 4 days. 
Westlake Golf Club will host the event for a third consecutive year from 13-16 May. 

Investec South African Women's Open 2021

New format and handsome purse attracts more international talent

The Investec South African Women’s Open will once again be co-sanctioned with the Ladies European Tour, and for the first time on the Sunshine Ladies Tour, the tournament will be decided over 72 holes. 
The event will be the season opener for the Ladies European Tour and the Sunshine Ladies Tour season finale.  The field will comprise 120 lady professional golfers.  
The flagship event of the tour will carry a prize fund of €200 000 (approximately R3.6-million), and a tournament winners category exemption for the remainder of the 2021 and 2022 Ladies European Tour season.
€200 000
Investec SA Women's Open prize money
72 holes
New tournament format
"We strive to create opportunities that develop women’s sport in SA and are proud of how The Sunshine Ladies Tour has grown. The increase in international participation speaks volumes of the high standard of competition." 
Peta Dixon, Head of Sponsorships, Investec 

Investec Order of Merit

Over and above the substantial prize money on offer through the Investec South African Women's Open and the new Homegrown Award, there's an additional opportunity to walk away with R100,000 through the Investec Order of Merit.   

The Investec Order of Merit is based on a points system and the top three placed professionals on the final Investec Order of Merit will gain automatic entry into the 2021 Investec South African Women’s Open.
In order to qualify for the Order of Merit bonus prize, players must have competed in at least three events in the 2021 Sunshine Ladies Tour season.
Investec Order of Merit prize money

2021 Sunshine Ladies Tour schedule

7 - 9 Cape Town Ladies Open Royal Cape Golf Club R 200,000
14 - 16 Jabra Ladies Classic*** Glendower Golf Club R 600,000
21 - 23 SuperSport Ladies Challenge presented by Sun International Gary Player CC R 400,000
28 - 30 Joburg Ladies Open*** Soweto Country Club R 500,000
7 - 9 +++ Dimension Data Ladies Pro-Am* George Golf Club and Fancourt Outeniqua R600 000 prize fund & R100 000 pro-am prize fund
13 - 16 ++ Investec South African Women's Open*** Westlake Golf Club €200 000 prize fund  & R100 000 bonus to a South African winner & R100 000 bonus to the Investec OoM winner

* Inside Tournament Pro-Am  ** One round Inside Tournament Pro-Am  *** Pre-tournament Pro-Am  ++ LET co-sanctioned  +++ Limited field event

Meet last year's winners

Alice Hewson could not have wished for a better start to launch her professional career on the Ladies European Tour.  The 22-year-old rookie from Hemel Hempstead in England lifted the 2020 Investec South African Women’s Open title in her first start, coming from behind to triumph by a shot.
Monique Smit won the 2020 Investec Order of Merit. The South African not only bagged R276 000 for her joint runner-up finish, but also edged out Stacy Bregman for the R100 000 bonus prize. 

SA Women’s Open past winners

  • SA Women’s Open since 1988

    2020 Alison Hewes England Westlake Golf Club 132 106
    2019 Diksha Dagar India Westlake Golf Club 126 93
    2018 Ashleigh Buhai South Africa Westlake Golf Club 122 87
    2017 Lee-Anne Pace South Africa San Lameer Country Club 62 21
    2016 NO EVENT        
    2015 Lee-Anne Pace South Africa San Lameer Country Club 44 7
    2014 Lee-Anne Pace South Africa San Lameer Country Club 120 84
    2013 Marianne Skarpnord Norway Southbroom Golf Club 108 77
    2012 Caroline Masson Germany Selborne Park Golf Club 84 54
    2011 NO EVENT        
    2010 NO EVENT        
    2009 Tandi Cunningham South Africa Parkview Golf Club    
    2008 Julie Tvede Denmark Durban Country Club    
    2007 Ashleigh Simon South Africa Durban Country Club    
    2006 Rebecca Hudson United Kingdom Durban Country Club    
    2005 Maria Boden Sweden Royal Johannesburg    
    2004 Ashleigh Simon South Africa Royal Johannesburg    
    2003 Helena Svenson Sweden Royal Johannesburg    
    2002 Mandy Adamson South Africa Devonvale Golf Club    
    2001 Vanessa Smith South Africa Devonvale Golf Club     
    2000 Claire Duffy United Kingdom Rondebosch Golf Club    
    1999 Barbara Pestana South Africa Rondebosch Golf Club    
    1998 Barbara Pestana South Africa Kyalami Golf Club    
    1997 Mandy Adamson South Africa Kyalami Golf Club    
    1996 Laurette Maritz South Africa Kyalami Golf Club    
    1995 Mandy Adamson South Africa Observatory Golf Club    
    1994 NO EVENT        
    1993 NO EVENT        
    1992 NO EVENT        
    1991 Brenda Lunsford United States of America Germiston Country Club    
    1990 Brenda Lunsford United States of America Germiston Country Club    
    1989 Laurette Maritz  South Africa Germiston Country Club    
    1988 Elizabeth Glass Zimbabwe Germiston Country Club    

Investec South African Women's Open: Watch the 2020 highlights 

SA Women’s golf

When will the pay, reflect the play?

Investec sponsored player profiles

Lejan Lewthwaite

‘Winning the 2019 SA Women's Masters as well as winning the Jacky Mercer Trophy for leading amateur.’  - Proudest moments in golf


Twitter: @LejanL0212
Instagram: @Lejanl02
Facebook: Leján Lewthwaite

Stacy Bregman

‘Winning world Amateur in 2006, winning 5 times on the sunshine ladies tour, finishing 12th on the order of merit in Europe 2015 - Proudest moment in golf


Twitter: @stacybregman
Instagram: @stacybregman

Nicole Garcia

‘Playing the US Open in my rookie year.’ - Proudest moment in golf
Twitter: @Nicole_Garcia72
Instagram: @nicolegarcia72
Facebook: Nicola Garcia