Investec champions cup

Investec Champions Cup

Investec is proud to be the new title sponsor of the Investec Champions Cup. A tournament with many of the biggest names in world rugby putting in exhilarating, high-intensity performances, qualities Investec admire and share. Never settle for ordinary.

Keep scrolling

Investec Champions Cup is the world’s biggest club rugby competition, the pinnacle of European and South African professional club rugby excellence: 6 countries, 24 clubs, 63 matches.

No ordinary tournament. No ordinary partner. Never settle for ordinary.


Abey Mokgwatsane
Abey Mokgwatsane, Investec chief marketing officer

As an organisation firmly rooted in our purpose to create enduring worth, we look forward to partnering with the EPCR to create transformational value for spectators, players and communities.

Investec Champions Cup – FAQs

  • What is the Heineken Cup now called?

    The Investec Champions Cup is the official name of the European Rugby Champions Cup (formerly Heineken Cup).

  • Where to watch the Investec Champions Cup:

    • The Investec Champions Cup is broadcast by:
    • TNT Sports and ITV in the UK
    • SuperSport in South Africa
    • BT Sport, RET in Ireland 
    • beIN Sports in France
    • Sky Sport, ELEVEN, and in Italy


  • How does the Investec Champions Cup work?

    For the 2023/24 season, 24 qualifying clubs are placed into four pools of six teams. In the pool stage, each team plays four matches (two home, two away). The four highest-ranked teams from each pool at the end of the pool stage progress to a knockout Round of 16, where 16 teams compete for 8 spots. The tournament then progresses to the quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals. 

  • When is the Investec Champions Cup Final?

    The Champions Cup Final will be played on Saturday, 25 May 2024.

    The semi-finals will be played on Saturday, 4 May 2024.

  • Who has won the most Champions Cups?

    Toulouse is the most successful Champions Cup team, with five titles. 

  • Who are the current Investec Champions Cup holders?

    La Rochelle (France) are the current Investec Champions Cup holders, defeating Leinster 26-27 in the 2023 final at Aviva Stadium, Dublin.

  • How many teams compete for the Champions Cup?

    24 teams from England, France, South Africa, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales compete for the Investec Champions Cup.

Press Release

European Professional Club Rugby (EPCR) and Investec announce that the leading international bank and wealth manager is the new title partner of the Investec Champions Cup, for the next five years.

Investec's official designations

(i) “Title Partner of the Investec Champions Cup”

(ii) “Official Bank & Wealth Management Partner of the Investec Champions Cup”

(iii) “Official Bank & Wealth Management Partner of EPCR Competitions”