Investec SA Women's Open

Investec is the title sponsor of the Investec South African Women's Open, the Investec Order of Merit, and Investec Homegrown Award. The season-ending Investec South African Women's Open at Erinvale Golf and Country Estate is from 25 – 28 April 2024. Entrance to the Investec South African Women’s Open is FREE.

Investec SA Open trophy

Extraordinary takes drive

Entrance to the Investec South African Women’s Open is FREE


Fast Facts | Investec SA Women's Open

Co-sanctioned tournament

The tournament is co-sanctioned by the Sunshine Ladies Tour and the Ladies European Tour. This means players earn ranking points on both tours. 

State of play

132 professional women golfers compete, over 72 holes. For the last two years, the tournament has been held in March at Steenberg Golf Club. 

Prize purse

The prize purse has risen steadily to reach €320 000 (approx R6-million), making the season finale the most lucrative on the Sunshine Ladies Tour. 

Live TV coverage

If you cannot make it to Erinvale Golf and Country Estate, you can catch all the live-action on Supersport. All four days of the tournament will be televised. 




Prize Purse


Countries represented


Investec Order of Merit Bonus Prize




Investec Homegrown Award Bonus Prize

Buoyant Buhai wins the 2023 Investec SA Women's Open

Ashleigh Buhai

2023 saw the South African Major champion Ashleigh Buhai win the Investec South African Tournament, for a fourth time. 

The win sealed her fifth Ladies European Tour (LET) victory and sees her shoot up to eighteenth in the World Rankings, the only South African to be in the top twenty. 

“I’m over the moon, obviously. Ecstatic to have gotten the job done. My goal was to come here and win this week. I tried to play it down, because I know it’s a lot of pressure and it was going to be difficult to do. But now that I’ve got it over the line, I’m really happy," said Buhai. 

The last time Buhai won her national open was in 2018. The victory at Steenberg Golf Club justified her decision to come home after a long stretch away from her United States base. “It’s always important for me to play this tournament when I can. Unfortunately, scheduling didn’t work out the last few years because of changes forced by COVID. I was a little tired at the beginning of the week, but obviously, now I’m thrilled that I came home," commented Buhai.

Spain’s Ana Pelaez Trivino finished in second place on the LET after she produced a round of 68 (-4) on the final day to reach 18-under-par, and Germany’s Chiara Noja ended the tournament in third place on 17-under-par after a fourth round of 69 (-3). 

Ashleigh Buhai with husband and caddie holding 2023 Investec SA Women's Open trophy

Celebratory homecoming

Ashleigh Buhai with trophy

The Johannesburg born 33-year-old held a four-shot lead from the midway mark and maintained that advantage on the final day, to win four under, with a total of 266. 

Buhai had six birdies and two bogeys on the fourth day of competition to seal what was a dominant performance from the outset.

“The wind got a little bit trickier on the back nine. But luckily I had that big lead, and I could just hit it to the space on the greens and take my two putts. They had to come chasing and I did what I had to do to get the job done," said an elated Buhai. 

All four days were covered live locally by SuperSport and streamed to SkySports giving the tournament the best viewership in its history.  

Live TV coverage
SuperSport and SkySports

Investec Home Grown Award

Investec Homegrown Award prize money

There was a lot on the line for Buhai, who not only walked away with €51,200 of the €320,000 Investec SA Women’s Open purse but also pocketed R100,000 as the winner of the Investec Homegrown Award. 

The Investec Homegrown Award debuted in 2021 and rewards the winner of the Investec SA Women’s Open, should they be a South African.  

Investec Order of Merit

Ashleigh Buhai and Lily May Humphreys

Over and above the substantial prize purse on offer through the Investec SA Women's Open and the Investec Homegrown Award, there's an additional opportunity to walk away with R200,000 through the Investec Order of Merit.

The Investec Order of Merit is based on a points system, and the top three placed professionals on the final Investec Order of Merit will gain automatic entry into the 2024 Investec SA Women’s Open. 

In order to qualify for the Investec Order of Merit bonus prize, players must have competed in at least four events in the 2023 Sunshine Ladies Tour season.

In 2023 Lily May Humphreys, of England walked away with the trophy. 

Kyra van Kan, Peta Dixon, Ashley Buhai, Heather Casey and Lily May Humphreys

Group Shot (L- R) Kyra van Kan - Leading amateur; Peta Dixon - Investec head of sponsorships; Ashleigh Buhai - Tournament winner; Heather Casey - Investec head of integrated marketing communications and Lily May Humphreys - Winner of Investec Order of Merit

"We strive to create opportunities that develop women’s sport in SA and are proud of how The Sunshine Ladies Tour has grown. The increase in international participation speaks volumes of the high standard of competition." 

Peta Dixon, Head of Sponsorships, Investec 



SA Women’s Open past winners

  • SA Women’s Open leaderboard since 1988

    2023Ashleigh BuhaiSouth AfricaSteenberg Golf Club132104
    2022Lee-Anne PaceSouth AfricaSteenberg Golf Club132101
    2021Lee-Anne PaceSouth AfricaWestlake Golf Club11483
    2020Alison HewesEnglandWestlake Golf Club132106
    2019Diksha DagarIndiaWestlake Golf Club12693
    2018Ashleigh BuhaiSouth AfricaWestlake Golf Club12287
    2017Lee-Anne PaceSouth AfricaSan Lameer Country Club6221
    2016NO EVENT    
    2015Lee-Anne PaceSouth AfricaSan Lameer Country Club447
    2014Lee-Anne PaceSouth AfricaSan Lameer Country Club12084
    2013Marianne SkarpnordNorwaySouthbroom Golf Club10877
    2012Caroline MassonGermanySelborne Park Golf Club8454
    2011NO EVENT    
    2010NO EVENT    
    2009Tandi CunninghamSouth AfricaParkview Golf Club  
    2008Julie TvedeDenmarkDurban Country Club  
    2007Ashleigh SimonSouth AfricaDurban Country Club  
    2006Rebecca HudsonUnited KingdomDurban Country Club  
    2005Maria BodenSwedenRoyal Johannesburg  
    2004Ashleigh SimonSouth AfricaRoyal Johannesburg  
    2003Helena SvensonSwedenRoyal Johannesburg  
    2002Mandy AdamsonSouth AfricaDevonvale Golf Club  
    2001Vanessa SmithSouth AfricaDevonvale Golf Club   
    2000Claire DuffyUnited KingdomRondebosch Golf Club  
    1999Barbara PestanaSouth AfricaRondebosch Golf Club  
    1998Barbara PestanaSouth AfricaKyalami Golf Club  
    1997Mandy AdamsonSouth AfricaKyalami Golf Club  
    1996Laurette MaritzSouth AfricaKyalami Golf Club  
    1995Mandy AdamsonSouth AfricaObservatory Golf Club  
    1994NO EVENT    
    1993NO EVENT    
    1992NO EVENT    
    1991Brenda LunsfordUnited States of AmericaGermiston Country Club  
    1990Brenda LunsfordUnited States of AmericaGermiston Country Club  
    1989Laurette Maritz South AfricaGermiston Country Club  
    1988Elizabeth GlassZimbabweGermiston Country Club