Investec SA Open Championship

Investec adds the Investec SA Open Championship to its golf sponsorship stable, making it the title sponsor of both South African national opens.

SA Open trophy with SA flag

The second oldest national open in the world has a new sponsor. WATCH NOW

More unforgettable moments. More champions. More history in the making. 
More unforgettable moments. More champions. More history in the making. 

DP World Tour tournament

Minimum prize money for the Investec SA Open Championship
Globally televised tournament
Number of holes played

Investec is proud to confirm the title sponsorship of The SA Open Championship: One of only five DP World Tour sanctioned tournaments and the second oldest National Open in the world after The Open Championship.

Now in its 112th year, the 4-day-tournament showcases 156 pro golfers and offers a significant minimum prize purse of $1.5 million. 

Investec is an organisation firmly rooted in South Africa and, as title sponsor of both South African Opens, we believe we can continue to contribute to a game so many are passionate about.
Peta Dixon - Investec Head of Sponsorships

The South African Open Championship - a source of national pride

A golf tournament with a long and rich history
"Investec’s considerable support of our national Open is testament to the prestige of the tournament and Investec’s ongoing support of our country and this beautiful game. We are proud to have our national Open associated with a sponsor that exudes the same spirit of excellence and professionalism for which this championship is known, and which adds significantly to the legacy of this great event.”
Thomas Abt - Sunshine Tour Commissioner 

Investec's longstanding history in golf

Four sponsored women golfers

Investec’s golf involvement began in 2008, with a 12-year title sponsorship of the Investec Royal Swazi Open.

Expansion into the Chase to the Investec Cup followed and the current prized 8-year partnership and title sponsorship of the Investec South African Women’s Open, until 2025. Investec also sponsors the Investec Order of Merit and the Investec Homegrown Award

For many years Investec has also backed multiple golf professionals. Most recently they welcomed Zethu Myeki to the strong female contingent of athletes, including Nicole Garcia, Stacy Bregman, Lejan Lewthwaite and Northern Irish pro Stephanie Meadow.

Find out more about these women pros

Investec Chief Marketing Officer Abey Mokgwatsane says he's excited at the opportunities the new sponsorship presents, “This is a prestigious tournament, unmatched in South Africa’s golf history, with the best of the best competing for honours."

The possibilities that this tournament provides golfers to achieve their full potential, at the top tier of their profession, is unrivalled.   
Abey Mokgwatsane - Investec Chief Marketing Officer 

SA Open past winners

  • Leaderboard since 1903

    2021  Daniel van Tonder Gary Player CC
    2020  Christiaan Bezuidenhout Gary Player CC
    2020  Branden Grace Randpark GC
    2018  Louis Oosthuizen Randpark GC
    2018  Chris Paisley Glendower GC
    2017  Graeme Storm Glendower GC
    2016  Brandon Stone Glendower GC
    2015  Andy Sullivan Glendower GC
    2013  Morten Ørum Madsen Glendower GC
    2012  Henrik Stenson Serengeti GC
    2011  Hennie Otto Serengeti GC
    2010  Ernie Els (5) Durban CC
    2009  Richie Ramsay Pearl Valley
    2008  Richard Sterne Pearl Valley
    2007  James Kingston Pearl Valley
    2006  Ernie Els (4) Humewood GC
    2005  Retief Goosen (2) Fancourt
    2005  Tim Clark (2) Durban CC
    2004  Trevor Immelman (2) Erinvale GC
    2003  Trevor Immelman Erinvale GC
    2002  Tim Clark The Country Club
    2001  Mark McNulty (2) East London GC
    2000  Mathias Grönberg Randpark GC
    1999  David Frost (2) Stellenbosch GC
    1998  Ernie Els (3) Durban CC
    1997  Vijay Singh Glendower GC
    1996  Ernie Els (2) Royal Cape GC
    1995  Retief Goosen Randpark GC
    1993  Tony Johnstone (2) Durban CC
    1993  Clinton Whitelaw Glendower GC
    1992  Ernie Els Houghton GC
    1991  Wayne Westner (2) Durban CC
    1990  Trevor Dodds Royal Cape
    1989  Fred Wadsworth Glendower
    1988  Wayne Westner Durban CC
    1987  Mark McNulty Mowbray
    1986  David Frost Royal Johannesburg
    1985  Gavan Levenson Royal Durban
    1984  Tony Johnstone Houghton
    1983  Charlie Bolling Royal Cape
    1981  Gary Player (13) Royal Johannesburg
    1980  Bobby Cole (2) Durban CC
    1979  Gary Player (12) Houghton
    1978  Hugh Baiocchi Mowbray
    1977  Gary Player (11) Royal Johannesburg
    1976  Gary Player (10) Durban CC
    1976  Dale Hayes Houghton
    1975  Gary Player (9) Mowbray
    1974  Bobby Cole Royal Johannesburg
    1973  Bob Charles Durban CC
    1972  Gary Player (8) Royal Johannesburg
    1971  Simon Hobday Mowbray
    1970  Tommy Horton Royal Durban
    1969  Gary Player (7) Durban CC
    1968  Gary Player (6) Houghton
    1967  Gary Player (5) East London
    1966  Gary Player (4) Houghton
    1965  Gary Player (3) Royal Cape
    1963  Allan Henning Bloemfontein
    1963  Retief Waltman (2) Durban CC
    1962  Harold Henning (2) Houghton
    1961  Retief Waltman East London
    1960  Gary Player (2) Mowbray
    1959  Denis Hutchinson (a) Royal Johannesburg
    1958  Arthur Stewart Bloemfontein
    1957  Harold Henning Humewood
    1956  Gary Player Durban CC
    1955  Bobby Locke (9) Zwartkop
    1954  Reg Taylor (a) East London
    1953  Jimmy Boyd Royal Cape
    1952  Sid Brews (8) Humewood
    1951  Bobby Locke (8) Houghton
    1950  Bobby Locke (7) Durban CC
    1949  Sid Brews (7) Maccauvlei
    1948  Mickey Janks (a) East London
    1947  Ronnie Glennie (a) Mowbray
    1946  Bobby Locke (6) Royal Johannesburg
    1940  Bobby Locke (5) Port Elizabeth
    1939  Bobby Locke (4) Durban CC
    1938  Bobby Locke (3) Maccauvlei
    1937  Bobby Locke (a) (2) East London
    1936  Clarence Olander (a) Royal Cape
    1935  Bobby Locke (a) Parkview
    1934  Sid Brews (6) Humewood
    1933  Sid Brews (5) Maccauvlei
    1932  Charles McIlvenny Mowbray
    1931  Sid Brews (4) Port Elizabeth
    1930  Sid Brews (3) East London
    1929  Archie Tosh Royal Cape
    1928  Jock Brews (4) Durban CC
    1927  Sid Brews (2) Maccauvlei
    1926  Jock Brews (3) Port Elizabeth
    1925  Sid Brews Johannesburg
    1924  Bert Elkin Durban CC
    1923  Jock Brews (2) Royal Cape
    1922  Fred Jangle Port Alfred
    1921  Jock Brews Port Elizabeth
    1920  Laurie Waters (4) Johannesburg
    1919  William Horne Durban
    1914  George Fotheringham (5) Royal Cape
    1913  Jimmy Prentice (a) Kimberley
    1912  George Fotheringham (4) Potchefstroom
    1911  George Fotheringham (3) Durban
    1910  George Fotheringham (2) Royal Cape
    1909  Jack Fotheringham Potchefstroom
    1908  George Fotheringham Port Elizabeth
    1907  Laurie Waters (3) Kimberley
    1906  Arthur Gray (2) East London
    1905  Arthur Gray Garrison Club
    1904  Laurie Waters (2) Johannesburg
    1903  Laurie Waters Port Elizabeth