Investec SA Open Championship

Dean Burmester wins the 2023 title by three shots, landing his second straight DP World Tour victory.

Investec SA Open Championship- course-Homegrown. World class


SA's Burmester wins back-to-back titles

The 34-year-old South African, winner of the Joburg Open last weekend, carded a four-under final-round 68 for his fourth European circuit triumph.

Just one shot ahead with three holes remaining, Burmester birdied 16 and 17 and parred the final hole, beating fellow South African Ryan van Velzen (73), Italian Renato Paratore (70), and Swede Jesper Svensson (71) who shared second place. 

What makes his win even more remarkable is Burmester had appeared out of contention halfway through the Investec South African Open Championship. 

He just made the cut with an even-par 144, and was seriously considering pulling out, due to a stomach bug.  

"I was in terrible shape but decided to struggle on. By Saturday I felt much better and shot an unbelievable 65 to get back into contention," said Burmester.

"To win back-to-back titles on home soil, is super special." 

Investec SA Open Championship | Always reach for the extraordinary, no matter the challenge.


DP World Tour tournament 

The SA Open Championship is one of only five DP World Tour-sanctioned tournaments and the second oldest National Open in the world after The Open Championship.

Now in its 113th year, the 4-day tournament is played over 72 holes, showcasing 156 pro golfers. 

The Investec SA Open Championship offers a significant minimum prize purse of $1.5 million. 

This year sees the introduction of a $100,000 Order of Merit prize. The prize runs throughout the first season or "swing" of the DP World Tour, consisting of six events.  The leaders of this Order of Merit will also receive an invite to the first Rolex event in 2024. 

Investec is an organisation firmly rooted in South Africa and, as title sponsor of both South African Opens, we believe we can continue to contribute to a game so many are passionate about. Peta Dixon - Investec head of sponsorships
  • $1.5m

    Minimum prize money for the Investec SA Open Championship


    Globally televised tournament 


    Order of Merit prize for the season

Blair Atholl course 17th tee

The brutal but beautiful Blair Atholl

A common word used to describe Blair Atholl course is “long”. The course is known as the third-longest golf course in the world.

It stretches to a mammoth 7,527m off the back tees. Last year, temperatures soared beyond 30° Celsius on the tournament's final day – and this year it's not expected to be any easier.  

The Gary Player-designed course might be challenging, but its scale offers unusually wild scenery. So whilst following the play you may spot some wildlife too!


Crowds at the Investec SA open championship

Crowds braving the heat and catching their favourite players on the side of the Blair Atholl golf course.

Investec's longstanding history in golf

Investec’s involvement with golf began in 2008, with a 12-year title sponsorship of the Investec Royal Swazi Open.

Expansion into the 'Chase to the Investec Cup' followed and the current prized 8-year partnership and title sponsorship of the Investec South African Women’s Open, until 2025. Investec also sponsors the Investec Order of Merit and the Investec Homegrown Award.

For many years Investec has also backed multiple golf professionals. Investec currently sponsors Nicole Garcia, Zethu Myeki, Northern Irish pro-Stephanie Meadow and the latest pro to join the stable- Danielle du Toit. 

Find out more about these women pros

SA Open past winners

  • Leaderboard since 1903

    2022Thriston LawrenceBlair Atholl
    2021 Daniel van TonderGary Player CC
    2020 Christiaan BezuidenhoutGary Player CC
    2020 Branden GraceRandpark GC
    2018 Louis OosthuizenRandpark GC
    2018 Chris PaisleyGlendower GC
    2017 Graeme StormGlendower GC
    2016 Brandon StoneGlendower GC
    2015 Andy SullivanGlendower GC
    2013 Morten Ørum MadsenGlendower GC
    2012 Henrik StensonSerengeti GC
    2011 Hennie OttoSerengeti GC
    2010 Ernie Els (5)Durban CC
    2009 Richie RamsayPearl Valley
    2008 Richard SternePearl Valley
    2007 James KingstonPearl Valley
    2006 Ernie Els (4)Humewood GC
    2005 Retief Goosen (2)Fancourt
    2005 Tim Clark (2)Durban CC
    2004 Trevor Immelman (2)Erinvale GC
    2003 Trevor ImmelmanErinvale GC
    2002 Tim ClarkThe Country Club
    2001 Mark McNulty (2)East London GC
    2000 Mathias GrönbergRandpark GC
    1999 David Frost (2)Stellenbosch GC
    1998 Ernie Els (3)Durban CC
    1997 Vijay SinghGlendower GC
    1996 Ernie Els (2)Royal Cape GC
    1995 Retief GoosenRandpark GC
    1993 Tony Johnstone (2)Durban CC
    1993 Clinton WhitelawGlendower GC
    1992 Ernie ElsHoughton GC
    1991 Wayne Westner (2)Durban CC
    1990 Trevor DoddsRoyal Cape
    1989 Fred WadsworthGlendower
    1988 Wayne WestnerDurban CC
    1987 Mark McNultyMowbray
    1986 David FrostRoyal Johannesburg
    1985 Gavan LevensonRoyal Durban
    1984 Tony JohnstoneHoughton
    1983 Charlie BollingRoyal Cape
    1981 Gary Player (13)Royal Johannesburg
    1980 Bobby Cole (2)Durban CC
    1979 Gary Player (12)Houghton
    1978 Hugh BaiocchiMowbray
    1977 Gary Player (11)Royal Johannesburg
    1976 Gary Player (10)Durban CC
    1976 Dale HayesHoughton
    1975 Gary Player (9)Mowbray
    1974 Bobby ColeRoyal Johannesburg
    1973 Bob CharlesDurban CC
    1972 Gary Player (8)Royal Johannesburg
    1971 Simon HobdayMowbray
    1970 Tommy HortonRoyal Durban
    1969 Gary Player (7)Durban CC
    1968 Gary Player (6)Houghton
    1967 Gary Player (5)East London
    1966 Gary Player (4)Houghton
    1965 Gary Player (3)Royal Cape
    1963 Allan HenningBloemfontein
    1963 Retief Waltman (2)Durban CC
    1962 Harold Henning (2)Houghton
    1961 Retief WaltmanEast London
    1960 Gary Player (2)Mowbray
    1959 Denis Hutchinson (a)Royal Johannesburg
    1958 Arthur StewartBloemfontein
    1957 Harold HenningHumewood
    1956 Gary PlayerDurban CC
    1955 Bobby Locke (9)Zwartkop
    1954 Reg Taylor (a)East London
    1953 Jimmy BoydRoyal Cape
    1952 Sid Brews (8)Humewood
    1951 Bobby Locke (8)Houghton
    1950 Bobby Locke (7)Durban CC
    1949 Sid Brews (7)Maccauvlei
    1948 Mickey Janks (a)East London
    1947 Ronnie Glennie (a)Mowbray
    1946 Bobby Locke (6)Royal Johannesburg
    1940 Bobby Locke (5)Port Elizabeth
    1939 Bobby Locke (4)Durban CC
    1938 Bobby Locke (3)Maccauvlei
    1937 Bobby Locke (a) (2)East London
    1936 Clarence Olander (a)Royal Cape
    1935 Bobby Locke (a)Parkview
    1934 Sid Brews (6)Humewood
    1933 Sid Brews (5)Maccauvlei
    1932 Charles McIlvennyMowbray
    1931 Sid Brews (4)Port Elizabeth
    1930 Sid Brews (3)East London
    1929 Archie ToshRoyal Cape
    1928 Jock Brews (4)Durban CC
    1927 Sid Brews (2)Maccauvlei
    1926 Jock Brews (3)Port Elizabeth
    1925 Sid BrewsJohannesburg
    1924 Bert ElkinDurban CC
    1923 Jock Brews (2)Royal Cape
    1922 Fred JanglePort Alfred
    1921 Jock BrewsPort Elizabeth
    1920 Laurie Waters (4)Johannesburg
    1919 William HorneDurban
    1914 George Fotheringham (5)Royal Cape
    1913 Jimmy Prentice (a)Kimberley
    1912 George Fotheringham (4)Potchefstroom
    1911 George Fotheringham (3)Durban
    1910 George Fotheringham (2)Royal Cape
    1909 Jack FotheringhamPotchefstroom
    1908 George FotheringhamPort Elizabeth
    1907 Laurie Waters (3)Kimberley
    1906 Arthur Gray (2)East London
    1905 Arthur GrayGarrison Club
    1904 Laurie Waters (2)Johannesburg
    1903 Laurie WatersPort Elizabeth